Thursday, August 26, 2010

The Thirty Nine Clues

The 39 Clues is a series of adventure books written by several authors. The story arc was created by Rick Riordan, author of The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series as well as the first book in The 39 Clues series (Maze of Bones.) The series covers the adventures of siblings Amy and Dan Cahill. Upon the death of their beloved grandmother, Grace Cahill, Amy and Dan, along with their au pair, Nellie Gomez embark on a search for The 39 Clues that will unlock the secret of the Cahill fortune and power. Along the way the children learn how their family is connected to various famous/infamous historical figures (Benjamin Franklin, Amelia Earhart, Nikola Tesla, Picasso, Thomas Jefferson, and Mozart, to name just a few.) The Cahill family is divided into five branches, descended from the original Cahills. These branches are: Lucian, Tomas, Ekatrina, Janus and Madrigal. In addition to the books Scholastic has developed an online game along with trading cards. However the books are enjoyable by themselves.


This series is an excellent way to introduce readers to historical figures. Though the series is fiction many of the characters mentioned were real people. This provides an opportunity for at least one history lesson with each book. Readers who enjoyed the National Treasure movies will enjoy this series.

Book ten: Into the Gauntlet will be released on August 31st. This is the final book in the series, though there is a bonus book The Black Book of Buried Secrets (due out in October 2010) which will provide more information on the Cahill family secrets.


Internet Movie Database (and several other movie sites) have reported that a movie based on Maze of Bones is currently in development with a projected release date in 2011.


Books in the series:

Book One: Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan

Book Two: One False Note by Gordon Korman

Book Three: The Sword Thief by Peter Lerangis

Book Four: Beyond the Grave by Jude Watson

Book Five: The Black Circle by Patrick Carman

Book Six: In Too Deep by Jude Watson

Book Seven: The Viper's Nest by Peter Lerangis

Book Eight: The Emperor's Code by Gordon Korman

Book Nine: Storm Warning by Linda Sue Park

Book Ten: Into the Gauntlet by Margaret Peterson Haddix


Mrs. Archer's rating for the series 5 out of 5.

No comments:

Post a Comment